Gravel Limestone Slag Sand
Indiana Mineral Aggregates Association

Miner of the Year


The nominee must be actively involved in the aggregate industry in Indiana at the time of nomination. The nominee must be employed by a regular voting member of IMAA. The nominee must have been employed in the industry in Indiana for at least five (5) years. The nomination must be made by a member of IMAA.

Decision Makers:

The winner will be determined by the Selection Committee as lined out in the nomination form. Nomination forms shall be distributed to the IMAA membership in November each year and nominations will be due in December. District winners will be recognized and The Miner of the Year Award will be presented by the IMAA president to the state winner at the IMAA Annual Workshop Awards Luncheon.

Nomination Form

Current Miner of the Year Award Winners:

(presented at following year workshop)

1993 None

1994 None

1995 Marvin Rich, Irving Materials Inc.

1996 Jim Plew, Engineering Aggregates

1997 Billie O'Neal, Rogers Group, Inc.

1998 Ed Gum, Sellersburg Stone Co.

1999 Craig Huffine, Rogers Group, Inc.

2000 Ernie McKinney, Liter's Quarry of Indiana

2001 Ray Rich, Irving Materials, Inc.

2002 Bill Goffinet, Mulzer Crushed Stone

2003 Barney Beer, Elkhart County Gravel, Inc.

2004 Steve Rodenbarger, U.S. Aggregates, Inc.

2005 Waine Phillips, Stone-Street Quarries, Inc.

2006 Joe Langel, Irving Materials, Inc.

2007 None

2008 None

2009 Jim Smith, Hanson Aggregates Midwest

2010 Roger Bohlinger, Rogers Group, Inc.

2011 John Hyden, Meshberger Stone - Columbus Plant

2012 Danny Powell, Rogers Group, Inc.


IMAA represents over 90% of aggregate production in Indiana. Find out what we’re doing for our members and how you can benefit from IMAA.
Learn More


IMAA members produce crushed stone, sand, gravel or slag, sell mining equipment, haul material, and much, much more.
Find A Member


The Source Report – the bi-monthly membership newsletter of the Indiana Mineral Aggregates Association.

Read the Latest Issue